Thursday, April 28, 2011

What a Load of Bull-Station

*WARNING! LOTS OF SWEARING TO FOLLOW!*

Wednesday, April 20th
-----
The PlayStation Network (PSN) goes down. Sony states they are performing maintenance and the PSN will resume standard operations shortly.

Friday, April 22nd
-----
I discover the PSN is down and has been for a couple of days. I learn this by checking on IGN. I continue about my business.

Saturday, April 23rd
-----
I attempt to download Resident Evil 2 to my PSP, but am unable to log in. Sadness sets in. I fight off the suicidal thoughts and decide to move on with my life. News also breaks that the shutdown was due to an "external intrusion". They are now "rebuilding" and have no timetable on a return. Something like this happened not that long ago, so I resume normal functions and play Batman: Arkham Asylum instead. Many criminals ate fist and all rejoiced.

Monday, April 25th
-----
Withdrawals are setting in. Now, because it's not there, all I want is Resident Evil 2 in my hands. It tears at me, leaving marks that are invisible to others, but feel so real to me. I manage to put the gun away. Sudden realization hits that it's now 5 days after the PSN went down, and no additional information has come out. I begin to rage, wondering if the "external intrusion" was able to extract personal information. Sony is their typically useless selves and don't say anything.

Tuesday, April 26th
-----
I put aside my desire to kills zombies in Resident Evil 2 long enough to discover that hackers gained access to the PSN and to 77 million user's personal information, which could include credit card information. There is no timetable on the networks repair, there is no information as to what's being done about this, and it's now 6 days into the outage, while hackers could have had our personal information the entire time. I sleep that night, but just barely. The rage begins to build.

Wednesday, April 27th
-----
Not a fucking word from Sony. I sink deeper into a red haze.

Thursday, April 28th
-----
Sony say they will find who's responsible, no matter where they are. 8 days later. Good luck, fuckers. I'm SURE they wouldn't have sold ANY of that personal information to other people by now.

-------

While written in the spirit of fun, this is a fucking travesty. Sony has failed on every level with this. They shut the network down as soon as the attack happened and proceeded to "rebuild the network". This means they, in all likelihood, KNEW their network was insecure and could be attacked. They were just waiting for someone to actually DO it. You'd think they would've thought about the fact that PS3 consoles are now being actively jailbroken, and they really have no way of doing anything about it, would've been reason enough to fix things.

What's more crazy, is that they waited SIX FUCKING DAYS to tell us this. That' SIX FUCKING DAYS that some schmuck in the Netherlands could have been trying to apply for loans and shit in MY NAME. What have they said now? We should go and run free credit reports. Okay, cuntbags, what if we already take our credit seriously and ran a free report during tax time? I do that every year, and you can only run ONE FREE REPORT PER YEAR.

Here's some comparative information. Christina had Anthem Blue Cross insurance a couple years back. She got a letter in the mail one day, months after having left Blue Cross, that some of the information of their clients was leaked. They gave us a year of free identity theft protection, immediately. This was AFTER we CANCELED their service. Sony, meanwhile, has made no PR efforts at all to soothe the angry public. At. All.

The bottom line is that they're going to go down hard for this. I predict lawsuits, stocks plummeting, and I wouldn't be surprised if they try to charge people for a "more secure online experience" after the PSN is back up.

To sum up? Fuck you, Sony. Fuck you.

-Justin

No comments:

Post a Comment