Friday, December 9, 2011

Christianity vs. Dungeons and Dragons

Well, sometimes it is amazing what you stumble upon on the internet. My dad recently told me to check out a new cartoon called "Your Dungeon, My Dragon". In an effort to do so, I popped over to good old Google and typed in "Your Dungeon, My Dragon". While I do see several articles pertaining to the topic I searched for, what do I see nestled down at the #7 spot? A 2001 article written by William Schnoebelen titled "Should a Christian Play Dungeons & Dragons". First off, that must be a pretty popular article to hold the #7 spot in a search for a cartoon that is only months old. That would indicate that if you searched for "Your Dungeon, My Dragon" three months before today (and for about 10 years before that, based on the article's placement), this would've come up first.

Now, what we basically have here is yet another person who decided that Dungeons & Dragons is chipping away at the moral fabric of our youth, derp herp derp. The argument is obviously much older than 2001, considering Mazes and Monsters (starring Tom Hanks, mind you) came out back in 1982. I'd speak about that movie, but I think that you'll find a much more comprehensive and entertaining review of it by going here.

So, we know that Mazes and Monsters (both the book and the movie) had an overblown super-paranoid psycho-Christian agenda, so I'm sure I can expect much better from this article... oh wait, what's this at the bottom of the page?

A special note of thanks to Wendell Amstutz, Steve Lansing, Ph.D., and Richard Noe for their excellent work on D&D in their masterful book, EXPOSING AND CONFRONTING SATAN AND ASSOCIATES.

Wow. Just...wow. So, a lot of this article was inspired by a book called "Exposing and Confronting Satan and Associates." I can tell this is going to be a fun-filled romp through an enchanted forest! Well, may be not an "enchanted" forest, because that would be Hell, according to these people.

Now, we're obviously not going to take on the entire article, as that could prove to be fatal to my sanity, but we are going to go over a few rather wonderful quotes that are nestled in the loving embrace of this article. One such example lies in the third paragraph of this article.

Just a quick survey shows the cultural impact of D&D and its offspring. Just recently, a spectacular movie called Dungeons and Dragons was released. Additionally, the pop culture is virtually drowning in sorcery and occult related topics.

Now I'm not saying that calling "Dungeons & Dragons" a spectacular movie throws everything else you say into question... wait. Yes I am. Even children were offended by how horrible that movie was. In fact, the only remotely enjoyable part of that movie is watching Jeremy Irons chew apart the landscape for an hour and half. He still may have bits of the Empire of Izmer stuck between his teeth (yeah, I know I'm a nerd. Lay off.) Also, "the pop culture"? You don't get out much, do you? Even back in 2001 no one used the definite article when referring to pop culture (grammar joke, ftw!).

...in the 1970's, it was one of the major cultural phenomena that planted the seeds that have sprouted into Harry Potter and all the occult books and movies.

Okay, sure. Bring Harry Potter into this. Look, one of the big deals back in the early part of the millennium was "Is Harry Potter evil?" This still, to this day, remains one of the dumbest arguments made by Christianity in the entire existence of the universe. Why is it dumb? Because it's freaking Harry Potter! Do you really think that J.K. Rowling was during her best Montgomery Burns impression, rubbing her hands together while saying "Excellent, everything is going according to plan... soon, all the children will be turned to the blissful arms of Satan!" Actually, that's a pretty funny image.

*ahem* No! She wasn't saying that! She was writing a children's book about magic and wonder. Why the hell are you attacking her? I don't see Christianity getting all up-in-arms over Disney movies, do you? Okay, maybe you do sometimes, but still...

...the [monk] does not appear to be any sort "Catholic monk," but rather a monk from more eastern religions, with high levels of martial arts and occult expertise.

Huh? I get the martial arts expertise, because, y'know, Monk. But what "occult expertise" is she referring to? The fact that the D&D Monk is based on the Asian monks? That's pretty flimsy to say the least. Sounds more like just another way to throw the word "occult" around. By the way, "occult" is often time used as the Christian translation for "don't understand it".

By the way, the word "occult" (or some variation of it) is used 31 times in this article. Damn. And in total, there are 44 references to the world "cult"! Wowzers!

One other issue needs to be raised about alignment. The morality expressed in D&D is fuzzy at best, and is certainly NOT the morality of the Bible. The same handbook tells us "…that goodness has no absolute values. Although many things are commonly accepted as good (helping those in need, protecting the weak) different cultures impose their own interpretations on what is good and what is evil."

The irony of this paragraph is palpable.

For example, you can have a "lawful evil" character. A handbook states that: "A lawful evil villain methodically takes what he wants within the limits of his code of conduct without regard to whom it hurts. He cares about tradition, loyalty and order, but not about freedom, dignity or life." Talk about a mish-mash of moral ambiguity. Our young people are having enough trouble getting their values straight without being immersed in this sort of material!

Also, as Christians, we do not teach our children about people like Julius Caesar, who would fit the bill of Lawful Evil pretty well. As would Hitler, it could be argued. So, we don't want our children to be immersed in history?

Anyone who would attempt to equate [the Cleric] with a Christian clergyman is obviously woefully ignorant of both the Bible and Christianity. Yet, amazingly, Christian D&D players write me and claim that this makes the game alright. Obviously, no true Christian would use spells as their main tool. Also, the first sentence is very telling. The cleric is a generic religionist of "any myth." In other words, religions are myths. Christianity is a myth; Judaism is a myth, etc. This makes the D&D cleric align with the theology of Freemasonry, where the Great Architect is generic and any old god (or goddess if you please) would do... ...Any Christian who thinks that the cleric is an example of a Christian man of God is deluding themselves. 

I agree! The simple fact that you're expecting a Christian to justify the fact that he plays "Dungeons & Dragons" I think may speak more to the underlying issue with the very existence of this article, however. But, if you are a Christian, and your sole argument in favor of D&D is that you play a Cleric, then I do think your moral compass may be spinning the wrong way. More on this later.

...in the "universe" of Dungeons and Dragons magic is neutral, and can be used by "good guys" or by "bad guys." It is like "The Force" in Star Wars. This magical morality pervades D&D, and it is utterly in opposition to the Word of God. 

Well, you see...

So-called "divine spells" draw their power from a divine source (i.e., a god). On the other hand, wizards, sorcerers and bards cast "arcane spells" and this involves the direct manipulation of "mystical energies." This further confuses the issues raised above and makes prayer sound like magic; and makes magic sound like it can come from a "divine source." Obviously, the God of the Bible is not the source of magic, in any form.

Okay, but what you're missing is...

Believe it or not, some spells can even revive the dead, mimicking the power of the Messiah Himself. Christians may take small comfort in the fact that divine spells are better than arcane spells for reviving the dead.

Whoa! Stop it! I'm laughing so hard that I'm unable to respond to all the crazy that you're spewing at me! First, you are making the assumption that Dungeons & Dragons players are so stupid that you think they will start to believe that they can cast down fire upon people through prayer? Uh... here's a news flash. If the person was able to understand the complexities of Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (which is what was prominent in 2001), they are smart enough to know that the Christian religion does not work the same way.

Also, I love how at they end they threw in "Christians may take small comfort in the fact that divine spells are better than arcane spells for reviving the dead." Huh? Why!? You're whole argument is that this system is inherently evil and that no Christian should ever play it! Why would any of your target audience take comfort in that!? You are made of stupid! Oh, and leave Star Wars out of this! What did Yoda ever do to you?

But, hold on to your hats, ladies and gents! We're about to hop on board the CRAZY TRAIN!

I have played D&D a few times and spent dozens of hours talking with players and Dungeon Masters (DMs). Admittedly, my first hand experienced with D&D is from the 1970's-80's, but I would think it still counts for something. Has the game changed that much?

Uh... yes. Yes it has. The game actually intentionally started to try and distance itself from all the major occult-like stuff that existed back in AD&D and before. Also your "dozens of hours talking with players and DMs" from back in "the 1970's-80's" I'm sure makes you a friggin' expert in the field today!

For example, there is now a whole line of materials based on the hellish H.P. Lovecraft Cthulhu mythos, a form of magic that we practiced in the darkest days of our satanic career - a system of magic prominently featured in THE SATANIC RITUALS by Anton LaVey! Contrary to the ramblings of D&D defenders like Michael Stackpole, the Necronomicon and the Cthulhu mythos are quite real.

First, Call of Cthulu has nothing to do with Dungeons & Dragons. Also, by bringing up the existence of other role-playing games, you are basically admitting that you know that there are other games out there, and are simple shuffling everything under the D&D banner. Additionally if you really wanted to get into creepy occult stuff, you'd be best suited with something like Vampire: the Masquerade, instead of D&D. Also, I know it's not really what the author meant, but I love that he said that the Necronomicon and Cthulu (credit to Leslie!) are real.

However, let us look at the broader issue for a moment. Perhaps D&D has gotten more politically correct over the years. No more naked girls strapped to demonic altars, etc. Perhaps Hitler and rape are no longer praised. 

That statement is so baseless that it could earn a reward. Here is where the downward spiral truly begins.

The total absence of Jesus Christ the Lord as sovereign from D&D and almost all FRPGs is what makes them so spiritually dangerous - not talking about Hitler or having girl characters dressed provocatively. Cleaning up that part of the game and leaving Jesus, the true God, out of what is essentially a SPIRITUAL quest is like rearranging the lawn chairs in hell - especially when you consider there isn't very much grass in the inferno! 

Oh, come on now. You're not even trying anymore. First, that is a terrible simile (more grammar!). Second, that statement can lead down all kinds of dark paths. Basically, if you were playing a role-playing game where you all played as holy man in the name of Jesus, that would be morally better for you, even if in that game you were also all KKK members? Remember that, everyone. If you play a D&D campaign where your goal is to save a kingdom from an army of evil undead, you're going to Hell immediately. But, playing Grand Theft Auto and running over prostitutes constantly is a way better option, since you're character said "Jesus Christ" once. This part of the article earns the always-popular, double facepalm!

Defenders of D&D often complain that it is only a game. Playing chicken with cars is "only a game" until someone gets killed. So is Russian roulette! I am frequently told to "get a life" or write about something more important than D&D, like social justice or world hunger. The devil would sure like that.

Read that again. Seriously, read it again, and tell me you didn't laugh at that! If you didn't imagine it was being said by a priest. There you go. I just love that last line, "the devil would sure like that." What!? Actually, I think the devil actually loves the fact that you're so focused on D&D and not the people playing Russian Roulette! World hunger is small-fry, we've got to stop these damned D&D players!

Additionally, unlike Russian roulette or chicken, D&D is an extremely challenging game intellectually and emotionally. It truly involves its players in ways few games do, because it does demand a high level of imagination and creative engagement. Playing "chicken" demands neither. It is very like the devil to engineer a pastime which draws on the best of young people and then grind their minds and souls under the millstone of his hate.

I... I can't keep this up. The stupid just keep rolling in. First, playing "chicken" in traffic is actually very challenging, on a physical, emotional, and intellectual level! You have to be able to judge when the car is going to go by, be fast enough to get out of the way, and be able to cry when Billy doesn't make it by the tanker truck! Which are you more likely to cry about, a good friend hitting the wrong chamber in Russian Roulette, or Fizby the elf getting impaled by a spike trap? Also, I am forever referring to any D&D campaign I play in as "the devil's millstone of hate" from now on.

Down through the ages, no institution has done more to help the poor, the orphans and the starving than has the church of Jesus Christ. I would just ask them where are the rescue missions and orphanages started by D&D gamers?

You apparently weren't at any of my Saturday sessions back in the early and mid-2000s. Xavier the Brave helped save many people from evil creatures during that time. Hell, the entire kingdom of Quintella is still in his debt to this day.

Let me illustrate. I was raised in a devout Catholic home where I never, ever heard bad language.

Oh trust me, we all already knew you had a sheltered life.

When you spend the large amount of time required to play [Dungeons & Dragons] seriously, your mind begins to become "re-wired" by its immersion into a world where demons, magic and spells are almost real. This is all the more true because of the high level of intellectual and emotional engagement involved.

Okay, you're stretching. You've already established that you had very limited experience with D&D back in the 70's and 80's, citing dozens of hours of contact. Considering the average D&D session is 6 hours and there are usually 6-12 sessions in a full campaign, you really have no basis of knowledge.

Now this is not to say that every serious D&D gamer is going to become a Satanist or demonized. But the odds are good that they might.

Now I'm not saying that you playing D&D is going to turn you into slavering maniac who vomits pea soup but...

Please realize that to be demonized does not mean you become a slavering maniac who vomits pea soup.

Oh. Well, so much for that joke.

He subsequently dismisses the disappearance of Dallas Egbert (the first youngster to draw attention to D&D's possible psychological peril) into the steam tunnels of his university. He claims - again without footnotes or documentation - that a private eye named William Dear revealed five years later that the young man "hadn't played much D&D at all, let alone any sort of live-action D&D in the steam tunnels." How are we to know or trust this information?

Of course it was going to come back to that, wasn't it. The "claims" of William Dear can be found in the book The Dungeon Master. That isn't wild claim or speculation, it was a true story. What the article's author is basically saying is that he doesn't believe us, which by elimination means that he's sticking with Mazes and Monsters. Leave it to a psycho-Christian to throw away all the proof and fact in the world to support their argument.

A lot of the rest of the articles deals with the author's sad attempts at disassembling other people's articles and statements, so if you really want to read the insanity, go ahead. I encourage it, because the author starts to sound like a raving idiot during some area's like...

Article in contention:

"Clearly, role-playing games are huge. If they were luring kids into cults, one would expect a mighty lot of cults. A large number of cults, meanwhile, would leave a lot of evidence of cult-activity. What evidence is there?"

Anti-D&D response:

One is more tempted to ask, what evidence ISN'T there? As one who has been regarded for about 15 years as a "cult expert," I can say that the evidence mentioned at the beginning of this article: the vast proliferation of books, movies, video games and TV shows about the occult, witchcraft and sorcery is compelling. Additionally, the numbers of people involved in various occult practices are rising higher and higher each year, if book sales and the spread of related magazines and websites is any indication. There are witch covens in every major city and in many minor ones! This was not the case 30 years ago. 

Do I really need to get into how far off our author is here? Firstly, what in the hell qualifies you as a "cult expert"? Do you have a certificate? Did you pass an examination? Can you point out a satanic cultist in a police line-up?  Also, several times during his argument, he calls out Jeff Freeman, the author of the article being contested, called Concerns Christians Should Have About Dungeons & Dragons, for not citing his sources. You will notice that our author's statement of "the number of people involved in various occult practices are rising higher and higher each year" also doesn't cite anything. Impressive hypocrisy, Mr. Schnoebelen. Well done, indeed. Also, Jeff Freeman's article makes some good points, it's worth a read

Also in this article, our author lists 11 different deaths that are "linked to D&D", although there are a few that seem flimsy, and a couple involving people who seemed like they already had serious psychological issues. But, they played D&D once, so, evil.

Meanwhile, here's the counter argument to "D&D can teach you good things too!"

As anyone who has looked at the D&D manuals will confess, this stuff IS complex. It is certainly acknowledged that reading and memory skills would be needed to successfully play the game and interact well with peers in the game. That is all well and good.

However, we really need to look at the content of what is being read, memorized, etc.

  1. Teamwork - the gamers are working together to kill, destroy, steal or take whatever they want;
  2. Reading - they are reading about immensely complicated worlds of magic, spells and violence;
  3. Listening - listening to magic and violence being repeatedly acted out in the game;
  4. Memory - what on earth are they putting into their minds?

Here is the point. For a Christian youth (or adult) to fill their minds with all this occult (and pseudo-occult) gibberish is an insult to the God Who made that mind. How can they take every thought captive in obedience to Christ (see above) when they have to memorize "Phezult's Sleep of Ages" spell? Most peoples' minds can only hold so much detail. Sooner or later, all of this complicated eldritch verbiage is going to crowd out the scripture verses and Sunday school lessons these young people may have absorbed.

Take a breath, people. Bask in the glory. Okay, first, while I understand the point about teamwork, when you start complaining about the reading, listening, and memory content... you do realize that children are going to learn history, right? Plus, they usually read some form of literature, which could very well be dark and disturbing. I'm guessing our author also hates Shakespeare? Second, yes, I see what you did. You wanted to act like you know more than you do about D&D and picked one of the most bizarre spells in the game. Personally, I'm more partial to Bigby's Crushing Hand, but to each their own. The thing (well, amongst all the other things) that you're missing is that that you don't actually have to memorize a bunch of runes or other crap to cast spells in D&D. You have a character sheet with your spells written down, and you cast them. Seriously, you're harping on a point that literally does not exist. Finally, you intentionally used eldritch instead of weird because you are trying to pour on the occult stuff. We get it, D&D is Satan.

I used the metaphor of a porn role-playing game, where the participates play acted in various forms of sexual sin such as fornication, adultery or homosexuality. There was no actual sexual touching involved among the players, nor any nudity required. It was all in the mind. Would Jesus be pleased with that?

*sigh* No. I suppose he wouldn't. But since your argument is that all role-playing games are evil, does this point really prove anything? Face it, you wanted to roll porn into this as well for pure shock factor. No, that doesn't make you clever.

The question still stands. Why would a Christian wish to involve themselves in such a game?

If the content of your article is a good example of the BS they are facing on a daily basis, they would probably play it just to get the hell away for a little while.

Okay, seriously, people. This article is a doozy. And unless you are a super-Christian fundamentalist (and if you are, how the hell did you end up this far into my blog post?), you'll find plenty of entertainment in this article. For the record, although I'm an atheist (and therefore, definitely not part of the target demographic of this article), I spent plenty of time within the Christian religion and I do not believe this article accurately represents them. I do believe, however, there are plenty of people within Christianity that do go this far in their beliefs, and that scares the crap out of me. Just look at Rick Perry if you don't believe me. Also, if your kids are playing D&D and you are truly worried about them, try talking to them. It's amazing what an effect that can have on you.

I hope that I provided some to you, and until next time, take care!

-Justin

Friday, November 18, 2011

Things That Happened Plus Thoughts!

Yes, these are things that have happened. And most of them are really stupid. I think some of these may also be my thoughts. I'll let you figure out which is which. Enjoy.

  • During an episode of G.I. Joe, four Joes shot down six of Cobra's Rattler attack jets using only small arms while sailing down a river in Alaska on a 100-year old wooden ship. No one was hurt.
  • PETA is boycotting Battlefield 3 because during one of the single-player campaign levels, you stab a rat that is gnawing on your fingers.
  • There was a Captain Planet episode devoted to AIDS.
  • Marketing people tried to give the Geico Caveman his own TV series.
  • During a different episode of G.I. Joe, Roadblock busted down a metal door using a loaded bazooka as a battering ram. No one was hurt.
  • Steven Seagal once used an empty 2-liter pop bottle as a silencer.
  • There is a movie called Vampires vs. Zombies that features no Vampires fighting Zombies.
  • Koopa Troopa shells slide forever, showing that the secret to perpetual motion lies on the underside of a turtle shell. Get to it people!
  • PETA has spoken out against Mario's new Super Mario Land 3D game, where Mario can wear a Tanooki Suit, much like in Super Mario Bros. 3. They say that he is promoting the wearing of fur, and that it will make children think it is okay to wear fur.
  • The divine comedy, Dante's Inferno, was turned into a video game in 2010. It involved you fighting your way though hell to get your wife's soul back. You also could get an achievement if you killed some unbaptized infants. This is all very much like the original poem. In which a man was led through hell so he could see sin for what it truly was and become a better person. WHAT. THE. FUCK.
  • Gun 'n Roses front man Axl Rose bit a security guard at a hotel in 2006. Nothing to elaborate on there, I don't think anything any member of Gun 'n Roses does will really surprise us any more. Except maybe getting sober.
  • During yet another episode of G.I. Joe, Cutter attempts to disarm a deatomizing missile near a busy carnival by shooting at it, WHICH CAUSES IT TO EXPLODE. We never really get resolution to this, so I presume that thousands died.
Bah. That list was a waste of your time. I'd say I'm sorry, but I'm saving all the time that you're wasting for something big.

Or whatever.

-Justin

Friday, November 11, 2011

IMO: Episode 01 - Batman: Arkham City

This is it! My first review-esque episode! Welcome to IMO, in which I give my opinion on various newer release movies, games, and whatever else feels appropriate. This week, we're looking at Batman: Arkham City!

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Fun Things to Do...

...on a train trip.

  • Set up a chess board in the dining area and play both sides. Make sure to actually switch which side you're sitting on when playing. Then, after winning, shake your own hand and compliment yourself.
  • Get a private car and build a fort out of cushions and pillows. When the waiter comes in to ask if you need anything, demand they give you the password.
  • Stand outside a passanger car and stare out their window from outside. If someone asks what you're doing, say "looking outside." Then walk away.
  • Tell the people around you that you have an awesome video to show them on your iPod. When they go to look, play the music video of Rick Astley's "Never Gonna Give You Up". Repeat this process for everyone on the train
  • Wear Jedi robes and carry a toy lightsaber with you for the entire ride. Spend a majority of the time wandering around. Respond to everything with "I'll never turn to the dark side!" while waving your lightsaber in front of you. If you don't have one of the fancy lightsabers that make the noises, make the noises yourself.
  • When you're alone in the car, empty a bottle of ketchup on the ground and lay down in it. When people see you and panic, explain calmly that this is how you always sleep, and that they should keep it down.
  • Constantly ask the waiters to ask the conductor if you're there yet.
  • Ask everyone for their autograph. Claim to be a big fan of their work.
  • Loudly proclaim that you are plotting world domination and you are not to be disturbed. Then sit down and start reading "Who Moved My Cheese?". If disturbed, laugh maniacally.
  •  Wear a pair of sunglasses with googly eyes on the lenses. Constantly make the "I see you" motion at people.
  • Before departure, ask the people around you if they know when "lift-off" is.
  • Buy an Atari Lynx and spend the entire time boasting about the great features of the system. This should take around 40 seconds. Spend the remainder of the trip afterwards lamenting your horrible decision.
  • Start asking people if they've seen your pet snake around.
  • Pretend to sleep, but wake up every 10 minutes shouting a random combination of the words "pointy", "scrotum", "nose", "airplane", "seconds", "ball", "crown", "Massachusetts", and "welded".
  • Claim to be the Nigerian prince they has been sending all those emails. Act depressed that you never got to give your money away and instead had to burn it all.
  • After the trip, loudly proclaim, "Pfft. The train in Back to the Future Part III was WAY cooler than this one."
Safe travels, everyone!

-Justin

Friday, October 14, 2011

More coming soon!

Yeah, yeah. You're sick of hearing that. I have my NES controller hooked up and ready to go, however. I'm going to be recording some footage for my first game review here soon, and I hope to have it up. I will finish my Totally Rad LP soon, but I have other things I wanted to work on first. What things? Well I wanted to kinda look at how video games have changed over the years. So one of the ways that popped into my head are licensed games. A good example is what I'm going to start with which are the old Capcom developed and/or distributed NES Disney games, which were pretty much all awesome. I thought it would be fun to go through them again and tell people who may have missed out on them about a time when something being tied to a cartoon or movie wasn't necessarily suck on toast. So, we'll see what happens as I begin my foray into the classics. Mickey Mousecapade is first on my list, so hopefully I'll have something up soon.

-Justin

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Let's Play - Totally Rad (Part 1 & 2)


Trying something new here... welcome to my very own Let's Play! We're starting off with a little known NES game known as Totally Rad! It's... not really all that rad, to be honest.

Monday, July 18, 2011

OMG! I hat CoD:Blops!!!!11!!1111!!oneoneeleven

That title is about as mature as the average person that seems to wander around message boards on sites like IGN or NFL.com anymore. We're going to be brief on this one, as opposed to my usual 3 page diatribes that I unleash from time to time.

Call of Duty: Black Ops does not suck.

It's not the best game ever. Hell, it's not even the best Call of Duty ever. But, the game certainly does not suck. Also, it's insanely successful. Now, I understand that success doesn't equal quality, but it still nullifies certain comments.

For example, someone on the IGN boards said that "the entire (first-person shooter) community despises Black Ops." Huh. Interesting since it has the LARGEST ONLINE POPULATION of active players on Xbox Live. So, are they all platformer fans? Sports fans? None of them are fans of first-person shooters, apparently.

Now, the game doesn't have the same feel as Call of Duty 4 did, nor the same as Modern Warfare 2. Those games grabbed you and showed a good amount of depth. Modern Warfare 2 suffered from poor map designs that made some game types unplayable, as well as several exploitations and glitches that severely damaged the game. It also had nukes. Fuck nukes. I don't like playing a Capture the Flag game that despite winning 5-1, we get nuked and lose because one douchebag in the back of the map is camping with a silenced shotgun. That does not encourage team-based objective play. At ALL.

However, Black Ops has a lot of very solid maps (bolstered by some really good map packs for once) and most maps work well for any game type. There aren't any broken weapons that work too well, there aren't any exploits that break the game, and there hasn't been any real cases of hacking in multiplayer games. Fundamentally, the game is well-balanced and plays well. So why does everyone hate it?

I think the obvious answer would be because it's successful. Look, I get that its the same game engine from Call of Duty 4, but what exactly is wrong with that game engine? It works perfectly fine. Hell, the Unreal Engine has hardly changed, but games STILL use that! I agree that some overhauls would be nice, and some have been made. Between the dive to the ground and the addition of several different and unique weapons, changes do get made. It's still a fun game to play.

Does that mean it should never change? No. I will tolerate Modern Warfare 3 using the same engine again, because it's closure to a trilogy of games with a connected story. However, after that I think they do need to freshen things up. The negativity from the online community will eventually bleed into the actual fanbase. That's one of the things that happens now with the internet and social networking. So, if they don't change after Modern Warfare 3, and just keep releasing a game a year with the same engine, it will become "cool to hate" Call of Duty, which will cause it to fail.

They need balancing still, don't get me wrong. There are still some really overpowered kill streak rewards, even in Black Ops. They need to go back to basics. Go back to a 3-5-7 combo, like Call of Duty 4 did, and like Crysis 2 currently does. Allow some customization of what kill streak rewards you have for the 3-5-7, but I'm sick of AC-130 gunships and Chopper Gunners causing me to have to max out the Ghost perk just so I can shoot them down without being killed 15 times. Example? 3 kills results in either an RC-Car, Radar, Ammo Drop,or Radar Jammer. 5 kills results in either any of the 3 kill streak rewards, or Care Package, Carpet Bombs, or a Guided Missile. 7 kills results in either any of the 3 or 5 kill streak rewards, or a deployed Attack Helicopter, a Napalm Strike, or a Payload, which if obtained, resets your kill streak rewards, so the next 3 will start the cycle again.

Simple, and effective. You could even have a kill streak called "Environmental" which will change depending on the map. Maybe the map has a large radar dish, so using "Environmental" will show the locations of any players within the vicinity of the radar dish. Simple things like that. Are there boats off the coast of a map? They'll start shelling the map. But at least you won't find yourself pinned down in a building while a gunship circles you endlessly with a fully automatic turret that never overheats.

So, this ended up being way too long winded, but I figured I would speak up in defense of Black Ops. However, my defense for the Call of Duty franchise will end if things don't change soon after Modern Warfare 3.

Take care, and talk to you soon.
-Justin

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Sony Retrospective

"We believe that [Sony] first became the subject of attack because we tried to protect our IP, our content, in this case video games." - Howard Stringer, CEO of Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.

He "believes" that's the reason. That's an actual quote from a recent Sony shareholder's meeting. Some schmuck actually said that to PEOPLE WHO OWN STOCK IN SONY!

Wait, that actually makes sense. Think about it for a minute, only complete morons would still have stock in Sony and NOT understand the reasons for the recent attacks. They only PUBLICLY STATED WHY THEY ATTACKED SONY.

"You have victimized your own customers merely for possessing and sharing information, and continue to target those who seek this information. In doing so you have violated the privacy of thousands of innocent people who only sought the free distribution of  information." - Anonymous, Hacker Group

Now, I completely disagree with the attack against Sony, but it is FAR from unprovoked. For those of you who aren't aware of the background in all of this, the Sony PlayStation 3 came with a feature called "Other OS", which allowed for the installation of an alternate operating system on the console. This was an important feature for attracting the Open Source community and was considered by many a huge step forward in embracing the idea of an open internet and the ability for PlayStation to be more than just a game console, and become a true "media center".

So, naturally, a few years later, in March of 2010, they removed this feature unannounced through a system update. They offered no explanation, no apology, and nothing in return for this. This upset a few people, one of which is George Hotz, who decided that he was going to re-open the PlayStation 3 to the public.

George succeeded in jailbreaking the PlayStation 3, which opened up everything. This allowed you to install homebrew software on the PlayStation, add alternate operating systems again, and even tweak system settings. The downside is it also opens the system up for piracy and modifications. This, of course, attracted Sony's interest. But instead of realizing that the reasons for doing this were completely driven from their removal of a key feature of their system (despite Hotz saying that), they decided that the jailbreaking was an act of theft and evil.

This resulted in Sony taking Hotz to court, where despite a very similar case regarding jailbreaking being ruled in favor of the individual (vs. Apple over the iPhone jailbreaking), this one was ruled in favor of Sony. Nothing really happened to Hotz, ultimately, other than his stuff being seized. However, this drew the ire of the hacker groups Anonymous and LulzSec.

What happened next I pretty much detailed a few blog posts ago, Sony got hacked, all the personal information got out, et cetera, et cetera.

"...cyber terrorism is now a global force, affecting many more companies than just Sony." - Howard Stringer, CEO of Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.


This statement is exactly the kind of thing that would piss me off as a shareholder. No shit, Sony! If other people are being hacked and their information is being compromised, why in the hell wouldn't you have taken extra security measures on your end? Is your IT security team comprised of lobotomized ostriches? What the fuck!?

Look, this statement is being made as a deflection of blame. Sony clearly feels that because several other people got hacked, it would've happened eventually anyways. Yeah, you guys didn't provoke anyone at all, right? The simple fact is that their decision to take out a bullet-point feature on the system is ultimately what cost me my personal information.

Look, at least admit that it was a dumb idea and that you know that you didn't handle it properly. I mean the decision only targeted the ENTIRE OPEN SOURCE COMMUNITY! So, in a market where your major competitor is Microsoft... you guys decide to take out fucking Linux. Yeah, that was TOTALLY warranted.

But, that's not even the icing on the cake.

"...if hackers can hack Citibank, the FBI and the CIA, and yesterday the video game company Electronic Arts, then it's a negative situation that governments may have to resolve." - Howard Stringer, Braying Jackass

My head actually exploded from this. It took HOURS to reassemble myself and get composed enough to write ANYTHING. Hell, I can still see some gray matter on the ceiling, but I'm not getting a ladder to try and get it back. Fuck that noise.

So, Sony feels that the government needs to get involved. Sony wants the government to come in and fix the relatively minor issue of PEOPLE HAVING FREE ACCESS ON THE INTERNET! Are you fucking kidding me? No, I'm serious here. What the hell do you want the government to do? Most cyber attacks happen out of the country. No one can do a damn thing about that, because most countries don't have very effective methods of finding these hackers.

Here's a crazy thought. Maybe, I don't know, YOU SHOULD FUCKING DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! It's YOUR system, YOU guys fix it! Huh, notice how Microsoft, YOUR MAIN COMPETITOR, hasn't been hit with anything. Could it be because their IT Security budget is higher than the box of Triscuits you use to feed to the ostriches you have on the payroll?

Look, you guys need to work on this and stop trying to deflect the blame. We all lost in this, the least you guys can do is man up and admit some fault here. We all know that it's a different world than it was 15 years ago, where a hacker was viewed as some wizard that threw skulls and shit on your television screen (fuck you, Rafael Moreu). The times keep changing and we need to change with them, and that includes you, Sony.

-Justin

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Coming Soon... promise.

I'm not sure if its my ineptitude with Adobe After Effects or if I'm using the wrong tool for the job, but I'm going to go ahead and try some other methods of editing this video. I sincerely hope to have this finished this week, then the rest should come much faster since I "hopefully" know what I'm doing. I plan on doing a quick vlog tonight to cover some things I've recently seen, specifically Thor, Mortal Kombat, and L.A. Noire.

Stay tuned, peeps!

-Justin

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

It Begins!

Tonight I'm going to prepare for my first video review. So I will be sitting down and watching Vampires vs Zombies. A crappy movie that was distributed by The Asylum to tie-in with the big release of Freddy vs. Jason. Seriously. I couldn't make that up if I tried. And considering THAT movie wasn't very good, I can't even imagine how bad Vampires vs Zombies will be.

Coming soon!

-Justin

Thursday, April 28, 2011

What a Load of Bull-Station

*WARNING! LOTS OF SWEARING TO FOLLOW!*

Wednesday, April 20th
-----
The PlayStation Network (PSN) goes down. Sony states they are performing maintenance and the PSN will resume standard operations shortly.

Friday, April 22nd
-----
I discover the PSN is down and has been for a couple of days. I learn this by checking on IGN. I continue about my business.

Saturday, April 23rd
-----
I attempt to download Resident Evil 2 to my PSP, but am unable to log in. Sadness sets in. I fight off the suicidal thoughts and decide to move on with my life. News also breaks that the shutdown was due to an "external intrusion". They are now "rebuilding" and have no timetable on a return. Something like this happened not that long ago, so I resume normal functions and play Batman: Arkham Asylum instead. Many criminals ate fist and all rejoiced.

Monday, April 25th
-----
Withdrawals are setting in. Now, because it's not there, all I want is Resident Evil 2 in my hands. It tears at me, leaving marks that are invisible to others, but feel so real to me. I manage to put the gun away. Sudden realization hits that it's now 5 days after the PSN went down, and no additional information has come out. I begin to rage, wondering if the "external intrusion" was able to extract personal information. Sony is their typically useless selves and don't say anything.

Tuesday, April 26th
-----
I put aside my desire to kills zombies in Resident Evil 2 long enough to discover that hackers gained access to the PSN and to 77 million user's personal information, which could include credit card information. There is no timetable on the networks repair, there is no information as to what's being done about this, and it's now 6 days into the outage, while hackers could have had our personal information the entire time. I sleep that night, but just barely. The rage begins to build.

Wednesday, April 27th
-----
Not a fucking word from Sony. I sink deeper into a red haze.

Thursday, April 28th
-----
Sony say they will find who's responsible, no matter where they are. 8 days later. Good luck, fuckers. I'm SURE they wouldn't have sold ANY of that personal information to other people by now.

-------

While written in the spirit of fun, this is a fucking travesty. Sony has failed on every level with this. They shut the network down as soon as the attack happened and proceeded to "rebuild the network". This means they, in all likelihood, KNEW their network was insecure and could be attacked. They were just waiting for someone to actually DO it. You'd think they would've thought about the fact that PS3 consoles are now being actively jailbroken, and they really have no way of doing anything about it, would've been reason enough to fix things.

What's more crazy, is that they waited SIX FUCKING DAYS to tell us this. That' SIX FUCKING DAYS that some schmuck in the Netherlands could have been trying to apply for loans and shit in MY NAME. What have they said now? We should go and run free credit reports. Okay, cuntbags, what if we already take our credit seriously and ran a free report during tax time? I do that every year, and you can only run ONE FREE REPORT PER YEAR.

Here's some comparative information. Christina had Anthem Blue Cross insurance a couple years back. She got a letter in the mail one day, months after having left Blue Cross, that some of the information of their clients was leaked. They gave us a year of free identity theft protection, immediately. This was AFTER we CANCELED their service. Sony, meanwhile, has made no PR efforts at all to soothe the angry public. At. All.

The bottom line is that they're going to go down hard for this. I predict lawsuits, stocks plummeting, and I wouldn't be surprised if they try to charge people for a "more secure online experience" after the PSN is back up.

To sum up? Fuck you, Sony. Fuck you.

-Justin

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Movie Reviews, TV Reviews, Game Reviews, VLogs and More!

Long time no see, people! That, however, is about to change! Coming soon will be a new series of videos from yours truly featuring all sorts of horrible movies, games and more to be put under the lens of scrutiny and ripped apart for your viewing pleasure! Stay tuned to find out more, and be sure to check out the blog for updates!

I'm hoping to start posting videos in May, but I'll keep you posted! Until then, continue reading and enjoying Double Clicked Comics!

Monday, January 17, 2011

Things: They Are A Happening

Ah, Mass Effect. Every time someone I know gets hooked on this damn game I have to go back and play it too. This has happened at least three times now. This is my first time playing through both games with all the DLC, and I have discovered that it can make the experience quite a bit different. I also decided to play the game with a different class than normal. Normally, the first time (or sometimes, several times) that I play through a game, I take Generic McBadass as my character. Most games that's the fighter, who has plentiful health and insane damage. This time, I took the Vanguard, which wasn't a whole lot different in the first game, but completely changes how you play the second game. In Mass Effect 2, the Vanguard actually IS Generic McBadass' younger brother, who runs mindlessly into the fray with complete disregard for his own well being. It's a lot of fun rushing directly into a horde of enemies, sending them scattering all over and then gunning them down while they try to stand up.

NFL Playoffs are underway. At the start of the season, I picked the Green Bay Packers to go to, and win, the Super Bowl. About week 13, I thought they were going to get pushed right out of the playoffs by Chicago, but they pulled through, even beating Chicago to get into the playoffs. Now, I am sticking to my guns. Mark my words, Aaron Rodgers will be holding up the Lombardi Trophy this year.

First convention appearance of the year is coming fast! We will be at SPACE on March 19th and 20th, so don't miss us! We will hopefully have plenty of wonderful and magical things to show you. Or, at least some things made of paper, that are crafted with humorous intent.

I think that it's almost time to start up Classic Sunday. This is basically my plan to sit down in front of my Wii and pick one old-school NES or SNES game, and then beat it in a single session. This could be especially difficult for games that I've never beaten, such as the Ninja Gaiden games. I might try to put some video footage together to show the pain and anguish as I discover I still suck at NES games, even decades later.

Finally, I figured I would mention that the Black Ops map pack comes out in a couple of weeks. These new maps include zip lines, automatic turrets, destroyable bridges, and a hockey rink. Yes, an actual hockey rink. That pretty much sold me on its own. One of the things I like is that Treyarch said they are not removing old maps from the playlist to include new ones, which is good because I actually like all the maps in the game. I hated how in Modern Warfare 2 after the map packs were out you never saw maps like Terminal again. Plus, no re-hashes this time.

Well, that's what's going on for now, take care my friends, I'll see you soon.

-Justin